CANSail Youth Summer Sailing Courses

CANSail is the national standard for Learn to Sail Programs in Canada. CANSail provides the curriculum and evaluative criteria that the NOLSC Learn to Sail Program implements into its daily sailing school operations. To learn more about the CANSail levels offered at NOLSC and identify which level is appropriate for your child see below.

CANSail 1 & 2

New sailors begin in CANSail 1. CANSail 1 and 2 is the introductory stage where students learn the basics of sailing including theory, boat handling, rigging, terminology, team work, and safety.


[button size=’normal’ rounded=’yes’ link=’’ color=’#000′ ]Find Out More ![/button]

CANSail 3 & 4

CANSail 3 and 4 is the intermediate stage where students learn more advanced sailing skills. Here they learn on more advanced boats, which are much less forgiving, but a lot more fun! Students will also learn about the technical and best practices of sailing and in CANSail 4 be introduced to spinnaker flying.

[button size=’normal’ rounded=’yes’ link=’’ color=’#000′ ]Find Out More ![/button]

CANSail 5 & 6

Is the most advanced sailing levels offered at NOLSC. Once students have progressed through CANSail 1-4, CANSail 5 and 6 teach students advanced boat handling and racing. Participants learn precise race tactics, and learn how to perfect every aspect of their skill.

[button size=’normal’ rounded=’yes’ link=’’ color=’#000′ ]Find Out More ![/button]

Previously enrolled in a sailing school?

If you are unsure what level you are in, don’t worry! Simply register for one of the sailing sessions online and our certified instructors will evaluate and put you in the correct level based on your ability.

To learn more about CANSail: Sail Canada Program Overview.